Argentina crowned FIFA World Cup 2022 champions

Canada Global (Web News) Argentina won the World Cup on penalties on Sunday, defeating defending champions France 4-2 after a dramatic 3-3 tie after extra time.

Argentina won their first global championship since 1986, and their third overall, after goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez saved Kingsley Coman’s penalty and Aurelien Tchouameni missed the target.

Kylian Mbappe scored twice in two minutes, including a penalty kick in the 80th minute, to help France come back from two goals down to tie the game after 90 minutes.

After Argentina’s Lionel Messi scored from the penalty spot in the 109th minute to give his country a 3-2 lead, France’s striker completed his hat-trick in the 118th minute.

Argentina took a 2-0 lead in the first period thanks to Messi’s successful penalty conversion in the 23rd minute. Messi was playing in his record-breaking 26th World Cup.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button